02167- 299326


Contact Us | Important links | RTI | Downloads

Janata Shikshan Sanstha's

Kisan Veer Mahavidyalaya, Wai

Tal-Wai, Dist-Satara, Maharashtra(India)-412803

NAAC Status - Grade 'B+' CGPA (2.66)

Kisan Veer Mahavidyalaya, Wai was started as the "Arts and Commerce College, Wai" by the Prajna Pathshala Mandal, Wai in 1962. Founding Fathers of the college: Kisan Alias Abasaheb Veer, the veteran freedom fighter Tarkateertha Laxmanshastri Joshi, the renowned Sanskrit scholar Initially, the college was affiliated to the University of Pune, Pune and after the establishment of Shivaji University, Kolhapur, it, along with the other colleges of the four districts of Satara, Sangli, Solapur and Kolhapur, was affiliated to the new university. Voluntary workers under the dynamic leadership of Kisan Veer came together and formed an educational society called Janata Shikshan Sanstha, Wai in 1967. The Sanstha was established for the purpose of imparting generally to the rising generation of India and in particular to the residents of Maharashtra, “a liberal and efficient Pre-primary, Primary, Secondary and Higher Education embodying a Social, Cultural, Scientific, Technical, Agricultural, Commercial, Industrial and Physical training”. Janata Shikshan Sanstha, Wai took over the management from the Prajna Pathshala Mandal on 1st April 1968. Kisan Veer donated Rs. 57000/- to the Sanstha from the felicitation amount given to him by the public.

Sixteen respectable farmers of Wai Taluka mortgaged their lands to raise Rs. 1,50,000/- in the form of a loan from the Sangli Bank Ltd. Wai to pay the amount due to the Prajna Pathashala Mandal, Wai.

The New Main Building, constructed under the leadership of Shri Veer, was inaugurated at the hands of Hon. Shri. Yashwantrao Chavan, the then Foreign Minister of India, on 15th February 1976.

Hon. Shri Yashwantrao Chavan performed the Naming Ceremony of the ‘Arts and Commerce College’ as “Kisan Veer Mahavidyalaya, Wai” on 1st September 1980. Hon. Shri. Prataprao Bhosale, President and Trustee, and Hon. Shri. Laxmanrao Jadhav-Patil, Vice President and Trustee, of Janata Shikshan Sanatha, Wai, both Ex-MPs, have provided dynamic leadership by making available quality education to the student population.

Hon. Shri Prataprao Bhosale donated Rs. 1,00,000/- (One Lakh only) to the Sanstha, the amount of “Abasaheb Veer Samajik Puraskar”, which he was awarded by Kisan Veer Satara Cooperative Sugar Factory, Ltd. Bhuinj in 2012.

Network of Janata Shikshan Sanstha, Wai:

The Sanstha runs 1 Senior College, 1 Junior College and 7 High School.
1. Kisan Veer Senior Mahavidyalaya, Wai
2. Kisan Veer Junior Mahavidyalaya, Wai
3. Madyamik Vidyalay, Khanapur
4. New English School, Vyajwadi
5. Madyamik Vidyalay, Shirgaon
6. Arvind Pawar (Patil) Madnyamik Vidyalaya, Vele
7. New English School, Dhawadi
8. Laxmibai Veer Madhyamik Vidyalaya, Shedurjane
9. Madhyamik Vidyalay, Govedigar